Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
Shopping Cart
Background Image URL //
CHASS Board 

CHASS Council 2020 - 2021

CLICK HERE for the 2021 CHASS Board Election information

Dan Woodman
Professor Dan Woodman: President

Dan is TR Ashworth Professor of Sociology in the School of Social and Political Sciences at the University of Melbourne and Assistant Dean (Advancement and Engagement) in the Faculty of Arts. He was previously a Research Fellow in the Research School of Social Science at the Aus tralian National University (2009-2011) and a Research Fellow at the University of Melbourne’s Youth Research Centre (2005-2009).

Prior to his academic career Dan spent a number of years as an intellectual disability support worker and did a short stint in the Victorian Public Service. Dan is the current immediate past President of the The Australian Sociological Association (TASA) and was the founding convener of the Sociology of Youth Thematic Group within the Association. He is also Vice President for Australia, New Zealand and Oceania of the Research Committee on the Sociology of Youth (RC34) within the International Sociological Association (ISA). He is co-Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Youth Studies and on the Boards of the Journal of Sociology, Journal of Applied Youth Studies and Youth and Globalization. He is the Founding Chair of Social Sciences Week, Australia and Chair of the Local Organising Committee for the upcoming 20th World Congress of Sociology, Melbourne 2022.

Dan gives regular presentations to teacher and student groups, business, government and community sector organizations and often appears in the print media and on radio, in Australia and around the world. His work has been used in submissions by various community organizations to numerous government bodies and inquiries, including Productivity Commission and Fair Work Commission reviews.

Helen Sykes
Dr Helen Sykes AM: Vice President & Treasurer

Helen is the Director of Future Leaders, President of the Trust for Young Australians, Chair of The Australian Collaboration, Associate of Melbourne Sustainable Society Institute, Member of the Future Justice Executive and Summit Governor of the Hillary Institute. She has published and edited many books.

Alec Coles
Alec Coles OBE

Alec has been CEO of the Western Australian Museum since 2010: the State’s museum with branches in Perth, Fremantle, Geraldton, Kalgoorlie and Albany. He was previously Director of Tyne & Wear Archives & Museums in North East England for eight years. Prior to that, he was CEO of the Northumberland Wildlife Trust, a wildlife conservation charity in North East England. He is an Adjunct Associate Professor in the School of Social Sciences at The University of Western Australia, an Executive Member of the Council for Australasian Museum Directors, a Board member of The University of Western Australia’s Institute of Advanced Studies, and Chair of International Council of Museums (ICOM) Australia. He is committed to developing and demonstrating the public value of museums. He is currently driving Western Australia’s initiative of a new State Museum and aspires to create a museum that is owned and valued by all West Australians and admired by the world. In 2010, he was awarded an OBE for Services to Museums. In March 2017, he was awarded Honorary Doctor of Letters from The University of Western Australia in recognition of his contribution to the Arts.

Barbara de la Harpe
Professor Barbara de la Harpe: Secretary

Barbara is Executive Dean for the Faculty of Business, Education, Law and Arts at the University of Southern Queensland. For twenty years she has been involved in teaching and academic professional development in higher education. Her background is in science education and educational psychology, and her fields of expertise include learning; generic skill development; university change management; and teacher professional development. Her PhD study was on student learning and she is widely published in learning and teaching.

Julian Meyrick
Professor Julian Meyrick

Julian is a Professor in the School of Humanities, Languages and Social Science at Griffith University. He is a theatre historian and cultural policy analyst, as well as an award-winning theatre director. Previously he was Associate Director and Literary Advisor at Melbourne Theatre Company, where he was responsible for establishing Hard Lines, a new play development programme.

He has published widely on the Australian theatre, culture, and cultural policy. He is currently Chief Investigator on two ARC Linkage Projects: AusStage Phase 5 (LE140100024) and Laboratory Adelaide: Accounting for Culture’s Value in the Arts, Cultural Organisations and Events (LP140100802).

Julian is Artistic Counsel for the State Theatre Company of South Australia and a member of the Currency House editorial board. The Retreat of Our National Drama, his second Currency House Platform Paper, was published in 2014.


CHASS Elections

Click here to go to 2021 Election page